Digging for fire.

In my sophomore year at college I decided to switch my major from sociology/anthropology to English in the hopes that I would work in the publishing industry.  Maybe one day I’d become an editor.

During junior year, I searched high and low through the virtual bookshelves of the internet, dusting off some mighty old volumes in hopes of finding an internship.  Something, anything.

Little did I realize that the job market was as bad as the internship one.

No one.
was hiring.
anywhere.

So, after venting to everyone and anyone who would listen to me about the 9.6% unemployment rate in America, a very wise person to whom I’m very gracious said,

“Have you ever thought about teaching English?”

To save you all the painstaking, boring details of my job search in Japan, I eventually landed a gig teaching English at something like a tutoring center in Oyama, Japan.

And, basically, that’s why I’m here.  If you keep reading you’ll get to learn more about me and in-depth reasons why I’m moving (and, I’m sure, plenty of things you don’t need to know).  In short, I needed a change of scenery, a change of life.  I’m 22 and I’ve lived at home my whole life (yes, even college) and I felt stifled and inexperienced.  I hail from Staten Island, the just-about cultural vacuum of New York City and breeding grounds for guidos and idiots alike.

I guess I’m hoping living abroad for a year will change my life, open my eyes, or, at the very least, give me an excuse to put off the “career choice” for another year.

About Michelle

I lived in Japan for a year & a half teaching English. Now I'm blogging about learning to cook in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Digging for fire.

  1. Klarika says:

    Yayyy!! I’m stoked you’re actually going to blog! Perchance is the title of this post in reference to the pixies?

    I’m also adding you to my blogroll so you better update this missy.

    • Yay, me too! I’m trying, at least. It is very much a reference to the Pixies (don’t you LOVE them? I can’t get enough).

      I’ll probably update it tomorrow! I think I should reformat the notes I wrote on Facebook about Japan here.

      Aaaand I’m not sure how/what a blogroll works but thank you! (Does that automatically put you in mine?)

Leave a Reply

