The day before.

This will probably be the last sort of boring post on this blog since I fly to Japan in 18 hours.

Eighteen hours.

It’s been a long journey to this point.  I started searching in June, got the job in the middle of July (while Mike was in Aruba, incidentally), and spent the rest of July & August taking care of paperwork.  Since then, I’ve made four trips to the Japanese consulate visa for myself and Mike.  But, basically, I’ve been chilling.

Yesterday I packed.  One suitcase is 40 pounds – all my clothes.  The other’s just about 40 as well and has toiletries, a raincoat, some dresses, and a pair of boots.  My carry-on has my laptop, external hard drive, and a few pairs of shoes.

My good friend from high school, Margaret, stopped by to wish me farewell and goodluck and brought a few goodies!  I got an airplane pillow (“Blue for Rangers!”), some DELICIOUS chocolates from Lee Sims on Victory Blvd, and a fun Scrabble card game for the plane!  Margaret’s a brilliant writer & awesome friend.  Link to her blog on the side!

Lauren, Me, and Margaret for my 22nd birthday

Tonight will be my fourth Christmas celebration this year.  Tacos for dinner.  My favorite (and sadly, difficult to find in my soon-to-be home).

I’m not really feeling too nervous tonight.  Not really too excited either.  I think I’m in denial, but not in a bad way.  I still can’t really believe it’s happening.  I got a bit emotional last night thinking of how I’ll miss my family & the familiarity of being home, but today’s felt like any other day… woke up, ate lunch, ran some errands with mom.  I guess it’ll set in tomorrow on the plane.

Well, thanks for following so far, guys!  If I can’t sleep on the plane tomorrow I may whip out my laptop to write a post.  Surely many photos to come soon!  I’ll try to get a shot of the McDonald’s across the street from us on Sunday or Monday.

OH and just a little reminder – we’re 14 hours ahead in Japan, so if you see me posting things about holidays & birthdays remember that I’m half a day ahead of you!

And now, I’m going to watch the Office ❤

About Michelle

I lived in Japan for a year & a half teaching English. Now I'm blogging about learning to cook in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

