Kurisumasu

Merry Christmas, everyone!

With the sun shining on our faces & a truck scaring us by driving over the cement-plate gutter on our street, we got up out of bed to find what Santa had left for the day.

We have some videos of opening gifts, but will need to edit them down, so check back on Mike’s blog for that.

Mike made some good coffee.  I, on the other hand, tried to embrace the Christmas spirit and gave our free Starbucks instant coffee a shot.

It wasn’t very good.  To cheer myself up, I played my new Footloose album.  And, since it turns out my Back to the Future record is a laser disc, I was very happy to get something I can actually play.

I actually saw Footloose for the first time in my life about a month ago, but Mike knows how much I love the following video, so it was an especially great present.

After calling our families, eating cereal, and being lazy I began cooking.

sanbaizu sauce:
3 TB rice wine vinegar
3 TB mirin
3 TB soy sauce
It usually has garlic, too, but since there are garlic chives in the pancakes I substituted with ginger.
We also got a beautiful card from our good friend Klarika:

About Michelle

I lived in Japan for a year & a half teaching English. Now I'm blogging about learning to cook in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

