Nikkō

For my final day before work, Mike, Mark, and I visited Nikkō.  I’d put more detail here, but I’d honestly just be regurgitating the Wikipedia page.  In short, it’s a cultural center with many shrines and plenty of natural beauty.

Located northwest of us, it took about an hour to get there via train.

On the bill was a breathtaking waterfall and
a few shrines, but it didn’t come cheap.
bus ticket: ¥2000
waterfall ticket: ¥530
shrine pass: ~¥2000
freezing: free

Literally.
A thermometer posted near the waterfall.  Presumably to torture people in the winter.

Enjoy the virtual tour!

all photos on Mike’s blog








I also discovered when we got home that today was Coming of Age Day (成人の日) on account of the Google homepage of all things.  Turns out, it’s a national holiday to celebrate coming of age – 20 years old in Japan.  Pretty cool.

Sorry the post is a bit short/not up to my usual standards.  Tomorrow’s my first day of work and Mike has an interview tomorrow.

Mike’s got a lot of great photos on his blog

(a few of which I took… including the one above)
from our visit to Oyama’s shrine last week.

About Michelle

I lived in Japan for a year & a half teaching English. Now I'm blogging about learning to cook in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nikkō

  1. Klarika says:

    Cute new banner! Totally laughed at the “freezing: free.” Although I do enjoy visiting shrines and temples, when I went to the palaces in Korea it was pretty cold and not as enjoyable as I imagine warm weather would be. Wish I was freezing over there with you guys!

Leave a Reply

