Big (Americans) in Japan

The following is a collaborative post between myself and Mike,
aka The Big ‘Merican Heartburn on his blog.

When we first arrived in Oyama, we were curious about the McDonald’s across the street and our first time there we saw an ad for the Big American Texas Burger.  Not just a Texas burger – it’s a Big American Texas Burger.  Our interest finally boiled over and we decided to take you for the ride.
tekisesu bāgā setto ¥730:
tekisesu bāgā 1
makku furai poteto M 1
kokakōra M 1

shakashaka chikin ¥100
shakashaka pizaaji

total: ¥830


And with this burger McDonald’s aims to take the crown of mediocrity by the standard of fast food that it wears in America today. In the end all I was really able to taste was the ‘chili’ and the chili tasted like Domino’s tomato sauce (where the heartburn idea came from). So don’t start buying plane tickets just to come over and try the Big American Texas Burger.

As I stood in line to wait for two cheeseburgers (yes, that’s right.  After all that food we were actually hungry), I beheld the McDonald’s preparation method for the Big American 2 Texas Burger.  An older woman fanned out sheets of paper, whipped buns onto them, and deposited the relish from some manner of squeeze container.  She slid the burgers down the assembly line to a man who, at a rapid pace, placed a burger patties before neatly separating slices of cheese, centering them, and laying them down.  Next came the middle bun (no real understanding of its purpose…), a heap of chili from another squeeze container, and the third and final bun.  (I didn’t even realize there was bacon on the damn thing until I watched the video of Mike eating it 12 hours later.)  The burgers were wrapped up, boxed, slid a second time, picked up by a third person, and transferred to a tray all in about 30 seconds.

I guess the thing that still fascinates me about Japanese McDonald’s is how friendly and efficient the staff are.  Though the depositing containers and the warming drawer from which the burgers were pulled disgust me, I don’t feel the same repulsion towards McDonald’s here as I did back home.  Maybe it’s the friendly service, or the general atmosphere of Japan.  I shrugged mentally and walked back to the table with our two burgers, scarfed them down, and remarked to Mike that for the first time in my life, I had actually eaten a warm McDonald’s hamburger. 22 years old – for the first time in my life.  We finished our meal and on the way out, I returned an unopened packet of ketchup the cashier.

“I still have the spicy aftertaste of regret” – Mike.

About Michelle

I lived in Japan for a year & a half teaching English. Now I'm blogging about learning to cook in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

