Update & Apina Arcade

Not much to update ya’ll on.  Just finished my third week at work and all’s going well.  I’m starting to realize that my work week’s actually longer than what I’m paid for.  There’s 5 minutes in between most classes, but by the time I dismiss students, get new supplies, & find the new students, it isn’t a break at all.  I also go in about a half hour early each day to set up my lessons – gather all the books & vocab cards AND spend probably an 2-3 hours a week planning lessons.  As I’ve said before, I really don’t mind the extra time.  It’s not a requirement and totally for my peace of mind; I’m just really looking forward to the point where I’m comfortable enough in the job to not over-plan.  I hope that makes sense.

It’s getting pretty cold here in Oyama.  I know all of you in New York want to punch me for saying that, but it really is.  Everything is colder when you bike/walk around.  I’ve also been sick the whole month, so we opted to spend the weekend in Oyama instead of going into Tokyo.  Neither of us has an abundance of money, and it’s gotten to the point where it’s so cold that we’re ducking into stores just to get out of the cold, so not actually seeing the sights.  That’s also much less appealing when you don’t have the extra cash to shop.

Monday night we went to a nearby arcade with our neighbor and friend Mark.  I had work all week, but Mike and Mark got to hang out a bit.  We also met Mark’s Japanese friend, Takumaru, who’s totally cool.  The three guys had lunch at the Park Hyatt in Shinjuku (the hotel from Lost in Translation).  Totally jealous because I was at work all day battling losing my voice.  So, that’s what the week and life’s been like lately.  Mike’s got a lot of great posts coming, but I only have two videos to offer you now:

About Michelle

I lived in Japan for a year & a half teaching English. Now I'm blogging about learning to cook in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

