Slices of normalcy

In an otherwise stressful, worry-filled week, we did a few fun things.

Last Monday (3/14/10) was White Day in Japan.  We originally planned to go to Tokyo Disneyland that day, but stayed local on account of the earthquake.  Mike and I biked around Oyama to scope out the damage in our area.  Hungry, we stopped for lunch at Verde Log Garden and I ate Italian food for the first time since December.Today we had some beautiful weather, so we took the long bike ride to Harvest Walk, a kind of outdoor shopping mall with a few restaurants.  We got lunch: some delicious ton katsu (fried pork cutlets).

I actually used to dislike pork quite a bit and couldn’t help but notice how odd it is that Japan, of all places in the world, has made me love pork. (I still don’t like Shake N’ Bake, Mom!!!)

We went to the arcade in Harvest Walk and played a cool Pirates of the Caribbean game followed by some air hockey.  Mike beat me twice.

I bought a pair of tights and a watch:

We stopped off to pick up some groceries and Mike finally found bread!  Now we’re at home relaxing.

Have a good day, all.

About Michelle

I lived in Japan for a year & a half teaching English. Now I'm blogging about learning to cook in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

