More gifts: sweets & hanko

I received yet more gifts from students (previous presents include chocolates, fruit, sweets, books, doughnuts, and cookies).

Shin, whom I read articles with on Thursday nights from 9:05-9:55, took a business trip to Hokkaido (Japan’s northernmost island) and brought me back some sweets:Crumbly, buttery cookie filled with a buttery cream and raisins.  My god, it was delicious, but I feel like I’ll get a butter coma from these things.

Kanji hanko
Akarumi, who has given me a gift nearly every class, showed up this Thursday with a hanko.  Also called an inkan, these stampers with the kanji for a person’s name are used on all sorts of official legal business in Japan.

You need one to conduct business at the bank (I use mine each time I make a withdrawal), to buy a home, etc.  When we first got here my boss helped Mike and I get cheap hanko (see them here).  Since we’re foreigners, ours are written in katakana, the alphabet used for non-Japanese words.As Akarumi explained it, the top kanji means beautiful, the middle is will, and the last doesn’t have much of a meaning, but is a sound loosely comparable to “elle” in Japanese.  As a whole, it’s pronounced misshieru.

About Michelle

I lived in Japan for a year & a half teaching English. Now I'm blogging about learning to cook in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

