Self storage in Tokyo

I need to find a self-storage place to stash one of my suitcases while I’m traveling for four weeks before I head home to New York.  I’m leaving Tochigi for the south, but will be in Tokyo for my last week in Japan.  Air Canada allows two checked bags from Japan for FREE, so there’s no way I’m shipping home things that’ll fit into the suitcase.

Google Translate is your friend!
After checking a thread on gaijinpot.com, I was lucky enough to find this: Terrada Trunk Room.  You can translate the website into English using Google Translate.  You can also go to http://translate.google.com/translate_tools, scroll to the bottom, and drag a button right into your web browser; it’s essentially 1-click translate  But, for shorthand, Terrada’s cheapest storage unit costs ¥3950 for a month (according to the site).

I haven’t contacted the company yet, but when I do I’ll update this with a description of their customer service.

There’s also Private Box with facilities from ¥3000 and many other companies. Google results show トランクルーム (trunk room) as a popular wasai-eigo term for self-storage.  Keep an eye out for that.

*You may also want to note that almost every train station has lockers, so if you just need to store something for a few hours that should be fine.  They’re typically ¥300 for small size (a large purse or some shopping bags) and ¥600 for a medium or large suitcase.  I don’t know if you can use them for an extended period, though.  I suggest you call the station and ask.

If anyone has used one of these services or can recommend a good one in Tokyo I’d love to hear your thoughts.

About Michelle

I lived in Japan for a year & a half teaching English. Now I'm blogging about learning to cook in NYC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self storage in Tokyo

  1. Pingback: Self-storage in Tokyo: Totally Lacking | garrulous gaijin

Leave a Reply

